The Clinical Haematology division was established as a subspeciality within the Department of Medicine, to provide a comprehensive service to patients with disorders of the blood (both benign and malignant). Clinical Haematology is a recognised subspeciality of the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA) since 1997. The division is accredited with the HPCSA as a training unit since the inception of the ‘new’ subspeciality in 1997.

In addition to service provision, members (consultants/specialists) of the division are also involved in teaching, research and administration.
They also service the Department of Medicine outside of their specialised clinical haematology commitments.